Skip to main content
Leavey School of Business Santa Clara University
Department ofAccounting

News Stories

2024 Accounting Professor of the Year

This year, SCUAA is pleased to present the Accounting Professor of the Year award to Professor Matthew Cedergren, Ph.D.

Congratulations to Dr. Matthew Cedergren for receiving the 2024 Accounting Professor of the Year Award on May 15, 2024 at the Accounting Awards Banquet in the Locatelli Center.  The award is voted annually by graduating seniors in the SCU Accounting Association. Dr. Cedergren has worked for the Accounting Department at Santa Clara since 2020, after a five-year tenure at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and has grown to be a favorite of many seniors when it comes to accounting professors. He currently serves as the advisor for the Accounting Association and teaches ACTG 11 and ACTG 132 – Introduction to Financial Accounting and Advanced Financial Accounting, respectively.

Dr. Cedergren's enthusiasm for accounting is evident to all who interact with him. He enriches his teaching with real-world examples from companies he has worked with and incorporates various tools in the classroom, encouraging students to think creatively and apply concepts to current situations. His commitment to student success extends well beyond the classroom. Whether through events hosted by the Accounting Association or his open-door office hours, he consistently goes above and beyond to support his students. In a field where simplicity is rare, Dr. Cedergren strives to "turn one dial at a time," ensuring that the concepts and flows of the subject are as clear as possible. Having worked closely with Dr. Cedergren over the past two years, the Accounting Association senior officers have witnessed firsthand the care, effort, and time he dedicates to our department. It is no surprise that he is the recipient of the Accounting Professor of the Year award.

Congratulations, Dr. Cedergren!

Written by Noah Chak, Accounting, Class of 2024, SCUAA President

Photo credits: Ana Henderson