Skip to main content
Leavey School of Business Santa Clara University
Department ofAccounting

News Stories

Recognizing Academic Achievement

Accounting & AIS students were presented with scholarships and awards for their hard academic work at a dinner and ceremony held on May 24, 2018.

Each spring, the Accounting Department recognizes the academic achievement of our Accounting and A&IS majors with scholarships and awards. The scholarships are funded by generous contributions from accounting organizations, alumni, faculty, public accounting firms, and Silicon Valley companies.

This year’s Accounting Awards Dinner and Ceremony was held on May 24, 2018 in Locatelli Center. The attendees included faculty, firm professionals, scholarship recipients, and their families and invited guests.

In addition to introducing and congratulating the scholarship recipients, the Accounting Faculty introduced the recipients of several prestigious awards:

Professor of the Year: Chris Paisley
Presented by the Senior Class to their favorite accounting professor.

Alumnus of the Year: David Price
Presented in recognition of a career of contributions to the recipient’s organization, profession, community, and SCU.

Thomas O. Maier Memorial Award: Mike Gomez
Presented to the outstanding Junior Accounting / A&IS student.

Jerry Kasner Memorial Award: Callister Carson
Presented to the outstanding Senior Accounting / A&IS student selected by the Silicon Valley Chapter of the California Society of CPAs.

Outstanding A&IS Student Award: Callister Carson
Presented to the Senior A&IS student judged outstanding in scholarship by the SCU Accounting Faculty.

O. Robert Anderson Award Recipient: Natalie Ramirez
Presented to the Senior Accounting student judged outstanding in scholarship by the SCU Accounting Faculty.

This year’s scholarship recipients included the following:

Accounting Department Junior Scholarship Awards*:
Kyla Inouye, Patricia Mallari, Tiffany Lam, Mary Ng-Alberto

Accounting Department Senior Scholarship Awards*:
Jordan Ford, Kyle Metzger, Madeline Sheridan, Matthew Stark

Armanino Empowerment Scholarship:
William Hao

Burr Pilger & Mayer Scholarship:
Saachi Sikaria

CalCPA Scholarship:
Callister Carson

Professor Charles F. Louie Scholarships:
Mike Gomez, Kalyn Ichinotsubo, Kyle Perez

Deloitte Leadership Scholarship:
Brady Smith

EY First-Year Scholarship:
Jordan Johnson-Wojnicki

EY Diversity Scholarship:
Ailene Nguyen

Frank, Rimerman + Co. Scholarship:
Allyson Villanueva

Professor James F. Sepe Accounting Scholarships:
Mindy Luong, Joseph Plata

KPMG Global Leadership Scholarship:
Robinson Lu

Lautze & Lautze Endowed Scholarships:
Matthew Sipowicz, Ryan Willett

Moss Adams Scholarships:
Caitlin Colbert, Stephanie Lu

Outstanding Accounting & Information Systems Student Award: 
Callister Carson

Paul Locatelli, S.J. Memorial Scholarships:
Gary Schlatter, Sarah Tatley, Katie Wickstrom

PwC Leadership Scholarship:
Carley Roberston

Thomas Maier Memorial Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: 
Mike Gomez

*Sponsored by Deloitte, EY, KPMG and PwC


ACTG, Accountant 18,