Skip to main content
Leavey School of Business Santa Clara University
Department ofAccounting

News Stories

2023 Awards Banquet Student Recipients

2023 Awards Banquet Student Recipients

2023 Accounting Awards Banquet

The Accounting Department hosted our Accounting Awards Banquet on May 18, 2023 outside on the Lucas Hall Courtyard from 5:00-7:30pm.

The Accounting Department hosted the Annual Accounting Awards Banquet outside in the Lucas Hall Courtyard on Thursday, May 18, 2023.   Over 80 professionals, faculty, students, and guests gathered to honor 26 of our best accounting students as they received scholarships and awards. Our Accounting Advisory Board members, as well as several members of the recently established Young Alumni Board, also attended the Awards Banquet.

2023 Awards Banquet Young Alumni and Mike C.

Over $86,000 in scholarships and awards, funded by generous contributions and grants from accounting organizations, alumni, faculty, public accounting firms, and Silicon Valley Companies, were presented to 26 students.  The evening commenced with grace by Wendy Donohoe, followed by dinner, opening remarks by Dean Grier, and an awards program moderated by Dr. Siqi Li and Dr. Michael Calegari.   Dr. Calegari shared fun facts about the scholarship recipients and repeatedly revealed how accounting brings families and people together!

2023 Awards Banquet Brian Bear Alumnus of the Year

Joseph Maglione (Accounting Advisory Board member/Adjunct Faculty) presented the Alumnus of the Year award to Brian Baer, who graciously accepted his award, shared about his experience at SCU, and reminded students to thank those that have made attending SCU and earning an accounting degree possible.

2023 Awards Banquet Professor of the Year


Bethany Candler (SCUAA President, Accounting Class of 2023), along with senior Accounting Association officers Andrew Amerio, Melanie Cooper, Isabelle He, and Bryce Otsuka, presented the Professor of the Year award to Dr. Siqi Li and shared her remarkable dedication to teaching her students.

The complete list of 2023 Award and Scholarship recipients may be viewed here.