Skip to main content

Scholarship Recipients

Each spring, the department recognizes the academic achievement of our junior and senior accounting majors with scholarships and awards. The scholarships are funded by generous contributions and grants from accounting organizations, alumni, faculty, public accounting firms, and Silicon Valley companies.

2017 awardees: 

  • Accounting Department Junior Scholarship Awards*: Kalyn Ichinstsubo, Matilde Saucedo, Matthew Robinson, Matthew Sipowicz
  • Accounting Department Senior Scholarship Awards*: Annie Pan, Madison Kingston, Margaret Curley, Shyla Suri
  • Armanino Scholarship: Isabella Zhang
  • BDO Scholarship: Bryan Chow
  • Burr Pilger & Mayer Scholarship: Mike Alexander Gomez
  • CalCPA Scholarship: Thomas Deal
  • Charles F. Louie Scholarship: Matthew Bettencourt, Natalie Ramirez
  • Deloitte Leadership Scholarship: Jordan Ford
  • EY Leadership Scholarship: Gary Schlatter
  • EY Diversity Scholarship: Mindy Luong
  • Frank, Rimerman + Co. LLP Scholarship: Katie Wickerstrom
  • Grant Thornton Scholarship: Michelle Wu
  • James F. Sepe Endowed Accounting Scholarship: Connie Chang
  • KPMG Community Service Scholarship: Carley Robertson
  • Lautze & Lautze Scholarship: Grace Momota, Valdemar Andersen
  • Moss Adams LLP Scholarship: Kyle Perez, Riley Moran
  • Outstanding A&IS Student Award: Walter Yu
  • Paul Locatelli, S.J. Accounting Scholarship: Koko Hanson-Dobbs
  • PwC Leadership Scholarship: Kyle Boyce
  • Sensiba San Filippo LLP Scholarship: Casey Von Der Linn
  • Thomas Maier Memorial Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: Callister Carson

*Sponsored by the Big Four – PwC, Deloitte, EY, KPMG

This is the department’s most important award for accounting students. It was established in memory of accounting professor O. Robert Anderson in 1973 and is awarded to the accounting major judged outstanding in scholarship by the faculty of the department.

Recent recipients of this award: 

  • 2017: Arun Coumar
  • 2016: Nicholas Casaccia & Tiffany Iskandar
  • 2015: Tuyet-Anh Ta

Each year, the Silicon Valley Chapter of the California Society of Certified Public Accountants awards an outstanding accounting student at Santa Clara University.

Recent recipients of this award: 

  • 2017: Thomas Deal
  • 2016: Ernest Yip
  • 2015: Nicole Orban

The award is named for Professor Jerry Kasner, CPA and professor emeritus of law at Santa Clara University School of Law. Professor Kasner taught continuing education classes for the California CPA Education Foundation for many years. He received a bachelor's degree in science in 1955 and his juris doctor in 1957 from Drake University. He began practicing law in lowa in 1957, and in California in 1959. Known for his outstanding contributions to estate planning professionals, Kasner served as a mentor to many estate planners in Santa Clara County. He received the California CPA Education Foundation's Award for Meritorious Service in 1985 and the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004. As a Santa Clara professor, he was completely dedicated to his students and law professor colleagues. In 1996 he received Santa Clara University’s Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship. He also received a distinguished alumnus award from Drake University Law School. Professor Kasner passed away in October 2004.