Top Stories

Starting out as a success

Business seniors are being recognized for their scholarly performance and personal achievement both in the classroom and the community at this year’s Senior Awards Ceremony.

The Leavey School of Business holds its 8th Annual Senior Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 10, 2016. This ceremony honors the outstanding work of graduating seniors and recognizes their scholarly performance and personal achievement, both in the classroom and the community.

Congratulations to these 2016 student scholars!

Business School Awards

For these awards, students are nominated by Leavey School of Business faculty as exemplifying the mission of the University, as well as demonstrating academic excellence, leadership and dedication to the Leavey School of Business. Finalists are chosen by a panel of university and business school faculty ans staff and approved by the dean. The 2016 awardees are:

Lily Bui, Thomas Deal - Charles Dirksen Prize

Jonathan Colarelli - Isabel Jones Academic Achievement Prize (Established by Eliot Jones, Ph.D. in 1956 in memory of his wife, Isabel) and the Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key

Alana Hinkston - Leavey School of Business Leadership Award

Alyna Merali, Matt Katawicz - Leavey School of Business Service Award

Departmental Awards

For these awards, the faculty of each department select a senior whose academic performance in the discipline combines with strong leadership skills, commitment to service, and potential for professional success. The 2016 awardees are:

Nick Casaccia, Tiffany Iskandar - Professor O. Robert Anderson Outstanding Student in Accounting Award (Established in 1973 in memory of accounting Professor O. Robert Anderson)

Ernest Yip - Outstanding Student in Accounting and Information Systems Award

Joseph Caputo - The Charles and Barbara Hazel Outstanding Student in Economics Award (Named for Economics benefactors Charles and Barbara Hazel)

William John Mittenthal, Jonathan Colarelli - Outstanding Student in Finance

Ivan Shao Tieu - Outstanding Student in Management

Ryan Moyes - The Albert F. Bruno Outstanding Student in Marketing Award (Established in 1982 in memory of Albert F. Bruno by Albert V. Bruno and family)

Emily Sidford - The Outstanding Student in Management Information Systems Award

Marco Ciccone - Outstanding Student Entrepreneur Award (Awarded by the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship)


Click on the title of each group to open another article with more information about these honorees. 

University Awards
The University recognizes the special contributions of seniors to the Santa Clara community each year. This year, seven business school students received University awards.

Beta Gamma Sigma
The national business honor society encourages and honors academic achievement in the study of business, as well as personal and professional excellence.

Leavey Scholars Program
The Leavey Scholars Program offers special opportunities for undergraduate business students who have established a record of excellence in their Santa Clara studies. 

Accelerated Cooperative Education (ACE) Program
The ACE program blends co-curricular activities and academics to help selected undergraduate business majors strengthen and enhance their leadership skills.

News, ACTG, ECON, FNCE, MGMT, MKTG, OMIS, Awards Home, LSB, News & Events Home, 2016, LSB, Top Home,

Business seniors at the 7th Annual Senior Awards Ceremony last year.