Skip to main content
Department ofPolitical Science


The Shallo Prize is awarded to the graduating student(s) deemed most proficient in Political Science.

Award Amount: Varies each year 

Selection Criteria

  • GPA
  • Number of POLI courses taken
  • Faculty recommendation

The SCU Political Science Department honors student research and writing with the Bernard L. Kronick Award. Established on February 13, 1986 this award is named in honor of Barney Kronick who taught Comparative Politics for nearly 30 years and who served long stints as the Department Chair.

Award Amount: $100/year per student

Selection Criteria:

  • Faculty recommendation
  • The department selects one paper from each area of study: American Politics; Comparative Politics; International Relations, Political Philosophy; and Applied Quantitative Methods. 

This award is named for our late colleague, Amos Leon Dana, a Santa Clara alumnus (Class of 1962) who served 36 years as a probation officer, retiring in 1999 as a Deputty Chief Probation Officer of San Mateo County. For twenty years, Amos also taught a course in Criminal Justice in our department.

In his honor, this award recognizes:
- excellent performance and personal growth through hands-on public sector experience
- potential for success in a career or studies in the public sector
- and/or outstanding research related to a public sector project

Award Amount: $300/year

Selection Criteria

  • Faculty recommendation