Skip to main content

Advisory Board

Civil Engineering Department Advisory Board

The Department of Civil Engineering maintains a close working relationship with its Advisory Board. The Advisory Board was originally formed in 1996 and now meets in the fall and spring of each year. As indicated below, the Board is comprised of working professionals from many different areas of the civil engineering profession. This includes representatives from consulting/design companies, public agencies, and construction contractors. Several of the Advisory Board members are either current or past officers of the local branches/sections of ASCE, APWA, and other professional technical societies. The Board provides input on undergraduate and graduate program curricular issues, helps identify developing areas within the profession, and supplies the department's faculty with expectations that the profession has for entry-level engineers. Accordingly the Advisory Board plays a significant role in developing and updating the Program Educational Objectives (PEOs) now required as part of the ABET accreditation process.

  • Gabriel Alcantar, Langan
  • Mario Baratta
  • Chris Brady, Stanislaus County Public Works
  • Karen Pachmayer
  • Nick Pera, BNTB Builders
  • Mark Saunders, Rutherford & Chekene Consulting Engineers
  • Katherine Sheehan (Soult), CSG Consultants, Inc
  • Mike Sheehy, Ruth & Going Inc
  • Gary Walz, retired from Rudolph & Sletten
  • Tom Yates, APEX Engineering
  • Reynaud Serrette, Chair (Acting), Civil Engineering Department
CE Advisory Board

Civil Engineering Advisory Board Members (left to rigth) Tom Yates, Mark Ashheim, Gary Walz, Nick Pera, Chris Brady, Karen Mion, Mario Baratta, Mark Saunders, Mike Sheehy (not shown:  Gabriel Alcantar, Katherine Sheehan (Soult)