Skip to main content

Core Curriculum


Fifteen Faculty Core Committees (FCCs) are responsible for reviewing course syllabi which are submitted by faculty to meet specific Core requirements. Thus, faculty shape the Core Curriculum through the exchange of ideas and their interpretation of learning goals and objectives.

Committee Responsibilities: 

Faculty Core Committees are responsible for:

  • supporting curriculum development for the Core area
  • reviewing proposals for syllabus approval
  • reporting results of the reviews to the Office of Undergraduate Studies
    • provide recommendations for revise & resubmits
    • provide rationale for rejections
  • working with Educational Assessment as needed:
    • provide disciplinary expertise for the Director of Educational Assessment as she develops scoring rubrics and/or surveys related to learning in the Core area
    • reflect and comment on assessment reports related to student learning in the Core area.
2021-2022 Core Curriculum Committee Members
Katharine Heintz Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies and Senior Lecturer, Communication Department
Andrew Ishak Director of the Core Curriculum, Chair of the Core Curriculum Committee and Lecturer, Communication
Christine Bachen Director of Educational Assessment and Associate Professor of Communication
Kathleen Villarruel Schneider Senior Assistant Dean for the College of Arts & Sciences
Michael Lasley Lecturer, Department of English
Laurie Poe Senior Lecturer, Mathematics and Computer Science Department


Faculty Core Committees

  • Harry Odamtten, History (term ends 6/2023)
  • Melissa Donegan, English (term ends 6/2025)
  • Irene Bubula-Phillips, Modern Languages (term ends 6/2025)
  • Meg Gudgeirsson, History (term ends 6/2025)
  • Kenneth Faulve-Montojo, Political Science (term ends 6/2025)
  • Greg Corning, chair, Political Science (term ends 6/2023)
  • Susan Popko, Global Engagement (by appointment)
  • Sunwolf, Communication (term ends 6/2023)
  • Kieran Sullivan, Psychology (term ends 06/2023)
  • Theresa Conefrey, English (term ends 06/2024)
  • Michael Lasley, chair, English (term ends 06/2025)
  • Aparajita Nanda, English (term ends 06/2023)
  • Denise Krane, English (term ends 06/2025)
  • Melanie Sellar (librarian, by appointment, term ends 06/2022)
  • Meilin Chinn, Philosophy (term ends 06/2024)
  • James Bennett, chair, Religious Studies (term ends 01/2023)
  • David Gray, Religious Studies (term ends 01/2023)
  • Karen Peterson-Iyer, Religious Studies (term ends 06/2023)
  • Gene Schlesinger, Religious Studies (term ends 06/2023)
  • Glenn Appleby, chair, Math & Computer Science (term ends 06/2024)
  • Laurie Poe, Math & Computer Science (term ends 06/2025)
  • Linda Brunauer, Chemistry and Biochemistry (term ends 06/2025)
  • Daniel Turkeltaub, chair, Classics (term ends 06/2024)
  • Jose Ortigas, Modern Languages & Literatures (term ends 6/2025)
  • Laura Callahan, Modern Language and Literatures (term ends 6/2025)
  • Christopher Kulp, chair, Philosophy (term ends 06/2023)
  • David DeCosse, Markkula Center for Applied Ethics (by appointment)
  • Robert Shanklin, Philosophy (term ends 06/2023)
  • Damian Park, Economics (term ends 06/2025)
  • Paul Soukup, S.J., Communication (term ends 06/2024)
  • Brian Thorstenson, Theater and Dance (term ends 06/2023)
  • Qiuwen Li, Art and Art History (term ends 6/2025)
  • Stephen Carroll, English (term ends 06/2023)
  • Christina Zanfagna, Music (term ends 06/2023)
  • Danielle Morgan, English (term ends 06/2024)
  • Aparajita Nanda, Co-chair, English (by appointment)
  • Mukta Sharangpani, Co-chair, Women's and Gender Studies (term ends 6/2025)
  • Jimia Boutouba, Modern Languages & Literatures (term ends 6/2023)
  • Thomas Plante, Psychology (term ends 06/2023)
  • Allia Griffin, Ethnic Studies (term ends 6/2025)
  • Brian McNelis, chair, Chemistry & Biochemistry (term ends 6/2025)
  • Daniel Ostrov, Math and Computer Science (term ends 06/2023)
  • Elizabeth Dahlhoff, Biology (term ends 06/2024)
  • Guy Ramon, Physics (term ends 06/2024)
  • Patrick Lopex-Aguado, Sociology (term ends 06/2025)
  • C.J. Gabbe, Environmental Studies & Sciences (sabbatical AY2022; term ends 06/2024)
  • Michael Kevane, Economics (term ends 06/2024)
  • Kirsten Read, Psychology (term ends 06/2025)
  • Chad Raphael, chair, Communication (term ends 6/2025)
  • Laura Nichols, Sociology (term ends 6/2025)
  • Dongsoo Shin, Economics (term ends 6/2025)
  • Madeline Cronin, Philosophy (term ends 6/2025)
  • Phil Kesten, chair, Physics (term ends 06/2024)
  • Sukhmander Singh, Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering (term ends 06/2023)
  • Phillip Jedlovec, Math & Computer Science (term ends 06/2025)
  • Brody Sandel, Biology (term ends 06/2024)
  • Laura Robinson, Sociology (term ends 06/2024)
  • Drazen Fabris, Mechanical Engineering (term ends 06/2023)
  • Claudia McIsaac, English (by appointment)
  • Audrey Guo, Economics (term ends 06/2025)
  • Christelle Sabatier, Biology (term ends 06/2024)
  • Aleksander Zecevic, Electrical and Computer Engineering (term ends 06/2023)
  • Christine Bachen, Communication (by appointment)
  • Sonia Gomez, History (term ends 06/2025)
  • Michael Carrasco, Chemistry (term ends 06/2024)
  • John Ifcher, Economics (term ends 06/2024)
  • Ryan Anderson, Anthropology (term ends 06/2024)