Skip to main content

Sabbatical Leave

A book with a magnifying glassThe Faculty Handbook states, “A sabbatical leave is awarded for the intellectual and academic enrichment of the faculty member and for the benefit of the University through improved teaching and scholarship.” The University’s sabbatical policy provides tenured faculty and senior lecturers with one academic quarter of leave with full pay for every nine quarters of service, subject to the approval of the sabbatical proposal. Faculty can accumulate up to 27 quarters of credit toward sabbatical, enabling one full year of paid leave. Faculty may carry over unused accrued time from one sabbatical to the next. Sabbatical leaves are generally to be taken within a single academic year.

Please read the Application Guidelines carefully for details on eligibility and projects appropriate for sabbatical leave. The Sabbatical Leave Options spells out options for leaves at full and reduced pay, depending on accrued quarters of full-time service.

Deadline for submissions: October 5, 2020
Sabbatical Committee 2019-2020

Paul Soukup (2018-2020)
Matthew Newsom-Kerr (2018-2020)
Juan Velasco (2019-2021)
Patti Simone (2018-2020)
Kathleen Maxwell (2018-2020)
Brian Buckley (2019-2022)
Michael Carrasco (2019-2022)
John Ifcher (2019-2021)