Skip to main content

Collaborative Governance & Working Groups

The Provost works with University Policy Committees, the Faculty Senate Council, and other standing committees to fulfill Santa Clara's core teaching, research, and service functions. When the need arises, the Provost may commission, or the Faculty Senate Council request, advisory groups or task forces to provide counsel or explore particular issues. To learn more, click on the links below.

Collaborative Governance

The University Coordinating Committee and University Policy Committees formulate and recommend new University policy and major strategic change and review significant changes in existing policies, in consultation with stakeholder groups. The vision of our shared governance system is that administrators and stakeholder representatives participate and collaborate on these committees so that the development of policy reflects their shared input and that of stakeholder groups. More information about the entire collaborative governance system can be found on the University Governance website.

The following committees include the Provost or a Provost delegate and make their recommendations to the Provost:

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is composed of all academic year faculty on a 50% or greater appointment. A council of representatives elected from the academic departments (CAS, BUS, ECP, ENG) and schools (JST, Law) meet monthly during the academic year. The Faculty Senate elects members to serve on committees for Rank, Tenure and Promotion (for tenure track and to senior lecturer), judicial proceedings (school Grievance Committees, Faculty Judicial Board), and Core Curriculum course approval.  The Faculty Senate also has subordinate committees, such as the Committee on Lecturers and Adjuncts. For more information about the Faculty Senate, see their website.

Advisory Groups

The Provost or the Faculty Senate may from time to time request the formation of an advisory or working group to address short- or long-term priorities.  Current advisory groups are listed on the University Governance Task Forces & Advisory Groups website and include:

During the COVID-19 pandemic, the University President Kevin O’Brien formed the COVID-19 Resilience and Recovery Working Group, on which the Provost’s Office and collaborative governance committee members participate.

Provost's Office Directory

Contact Us

500 El Camino Real
Walsh Administration Building
Santa Clara, California 95053-0460
Office: 408 554 4533
Fax: 408 551 6074