Skip to main content
Leavey School of Business Santa Clara University

100 Years of Leavey

A timeline of the years

  • 1854

    Historical photo of a Santa Clara University classroom from 1854

    Santa Clara University launches a commercial course.

  • 1923

    Photo from 1923 of Kenna Hall construction

    President Zacheus J. Maher, S.J., announces the formation of the College of Commerce and Finance. In 1924, Kenna Hall is constructed. 35 students enroll at the college.
    William H. Pabst is named first dean.

  • 1925

    The name changes to College of Business Administration.

  • 1927

    The first nine Bachelor in Commercial Science degrees are awarded.

  • 1929

    Edward J. Kelly is named dean.

  • 1941

    Students and faculty alike enlist and are drafted into World War II. Charles Dirksen is named dean.

  • 1945

    Photo of a group of Santa Clara University students in 1945

    Enrollment sees a postwar boom.

  • 1947

    The school admits women to evening classes.

  • 1953

    The college receives AACSB accreditation.

  • 1959

    The MBA program launches.

  • 1961

    Group of Santa Clara students from 1961

    The university allows women to join its full-time undergraduate ranks. The college graduates the first woman university wide this same year, an MBA.

  • 1962

    The college is called the School of Business.

  • 1967

    Kenna Hall is remodeled in an attempt to keep up with changing educational needs.

  • 1978

    Hewlett Packard in Santa Rosa becomes the MBA program’s first off-site campus.

  • 1979

    Andre Delbecq is named dean.

  • 1983

    Thomas and Dorothy Leavey School of Business Annual Report Cover from 1982-1983

    The Dorothy and Thomas Leavey School of Business Administration is dedicated. The school launches an International Business Studies program.

  • 1990

    James L. Koch is named dean.

  • 1993

    Kenna Hall is remodeled again.

  • 1994

    A new MBA curriculum is announced.

  • 1996

    Barry Posner is named dean.

  • 1999

    An Executive MBA program is announced.

  • 2008

    Rendering of new school lobby concept from 2008

    The school gets its first new home — and a place to house all programs under one roof — since 1924 with the opening of Lucas Hall.

  • 2010

    Andrew Starbird is named dean.

  • 2015

    Caryn Beck-Dudley is named dean.

  • 2021

    Ed Grier is named dean.

  • 2023

    The Leavey School of Business celebrates a centennial.

Support the Leavey School of Business Mission

Your gift provides essential funds for students, provides opportunities, and helps us build a better business world for our next 100 years.

Give to Leavey School of Business

Share Your Story # SCUBusiness100

Share your story by using #SCUBusiness100 and tag @SCUBusiness on social media.

LInkedIn Icon


Instagram Icon


Facebook Icon