Skip to main content
Department ofMathematics and Computer Science

Academic Program

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science offers two undergraduate majors: the Mathematics Major and the Computer Science Major. In addition, students may also choose either of the two departmental minors: the Mathematics Minor or the Computer Science Minor.

Current students wanting to declare a Computer Science major must take at least two courses required for their major (in CSCI, MATH, and/or COEN), at least one of which is in CSCI, and get a C or above in all of them. If the student gets a C- or below in at least one of the courses, then they should contact the Chair to create a contract for future grades required in order to declare a Computer Science major.

For those who wish to focus on either applied mathematics, data science, financial mathematics, mathematical economics, or mathematics education while majoring in mathematics, the Department provides emphases in all five of these areas.

Students with a Computer Science major (for those starting in 2016 or later) must declare one of the following emphases: algorithms and complexity, data science, security, software, or an open emphasis of the student's choosing.

In addition, the Department cooperates with the Department of Computer Science and Engineering in offering the option of a five-year combined B.S. and M.S. program for those majoring in computer science or mathematics.

Mathematics and Computer Science at SCU

Learn more about our program!

Navigate here to Math Major
Navigate here to Computer Science Major
Navigate here to Math & Computer Science Minors
Navigate here to Substitutions & Waivers

To declare or change a major, minor, or emphasis, fill out the SCU Registrar's Program Petition form.

Contact Us

Frank Farris, Ph.D., Department Chair
Donna Young, Academic Department Manager
Phone: 408-554-4525

Location: The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science is located in O'Connor Hall.