Skip to main content
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics

Ordinary Time: Christmas to Lent

Build.Plant.Grow provides catechetical instruction for children based on the Sunday readings of the Christian Church during the period beginning with Advent up to and including the closure of the liturgical year with the Feast of Christ the King. These readings from the Lectionary are divided into three-year cycles: A, B, and C. In 2014-15, for example, readings are from Cycle B.

Lesson plans include a short exegesis of the readings, application to a children's book, and the virtue that is common to the Bible readings and the children's book, activities to extend the understanding of the virtue, practical advice for incorporating the virtue in an age-appropriate manner. Examples of the children's books include such favorites as Harvesting Hope: The Story of Cesar Chavez, Ordinary Mary's Extraordinary Deeds, Dear Mrs. LaRrue, and The Little Engine That Could. 

Cycle A

Second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Feast of the Presentation of the Lord

Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time