Skip to main content
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics

People

The Ethics Center's staff includes Ph.D. ethicists and practitioners, lawyers, businesspeople, school principals, religious leaders, scientists, and journalists.

We are guided by an Advisory Board of leaders in the Silicon Valley. The board is comprised of representatives of major Silicon Valley companies, law firms, and nonprofit organizations. We also have a Faculty Steering Committee that helps develop Center policy.

The Center's home at a Jesuit institution that requires ethics courses for all undergraduates gives us access to a faculty with expertise in ethics in many disciplines. More than 50 of those faculty members serve as Center Scholars who assist us in a variety of projects.

 

Center Staff

Don Heider image

Executive Director

Don Heider

408-554-5319
Contact Don Heider

Thor Wasbotten image

Managing Director

Thor Wasbotten

408-551-3577
twasbotten@scu.edu

 

Kathy Almazol image

Senior Associate and Head of Faith Formation

Kathy Almazol

408 554-5319
kalmazol@mac.com

Charles Binkley image

Director of Bioethics

Charles Binkley

cbinkley@scu.edu

David DeCosse image

Director, Religious and Catholic Ethics and Campus Ethics Programs

David DeCosse

408-554-5715
ddecosse@scu.edu

 

Monica DeLong image

Director, Operations

Monica DeLong

408-554-7893
mdelong@scu.edu

Debbie Dembecki image

Assistant Director, Digital Marketing

Debbie Dembecki

408-554-7891
ddembecki@scu.edu

Joel Dibble image

Senior Director, News and Public Relations

Joel Dibble

408-554-5116
jdibble@scu.edu

Brian Patrick Green image

Director, Technology Ethics

Brian Patrick Green

408-554-7890
bpgreen@scu.edu

Joan Harrington image

Director, Social Sector Ethics

Joan Harrington

408-551-3577
j1harrington@scu.edu

Carrie Jaffe-Pickett image

Assistant Director, Communications and Social Marketing

Carrie Jaffe-Pickett

408-551-3149
cjaffepickett@scu.edu   

Jonathan Kwan image

Inclusive Excellence Postdoctoral Fellow in Immigration Ethics

Jonathan Kwan

jkwan@scu.edu

Leslie Leonetti image

Director, External Relations

Leslie Leonetti

408-551- 3474
lleonetti@scu.edu

Ryvenna Lewis image

Healthcare Ethics Internship Manager

Ryvenna Lewis

408-554-5716
rlewis@scu.edu

Margaret R. McLean image

Associate Director

Margaret R. McLean

408-554-5319
mmclean@scu.edu

Patricia Murakami image

Executive Assistant

Patricia Murakami

408-554-4027
pamurakami@scu.edu

John Pelissero image

Senior Scholar and a Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Loyola University Chicago

John Pelissero

jpelissero@scu.edu

Irina Raicu image

Director, Internet Ethics

Irina Raicu

408-551-1814
iraicu@scu.edu

Meghan Shoven image

Senior Director of External Relations and Advancement

Meghan Shoven

408.551.6025
mshoven@scu.edu

Ann Skeet image

Senior Director, Leadership Ethics

Ann Skeet

408-554-5466
askeet@scu.edu

Anita Varma image

Assistant Director, Journalism & Media Ethics; Social Sector Ethics

Anita Varma

412-656-9638
avarma2@scu.edu

Subramaniam Vincent image

Director, Journalism and Media Ethics

Subramaniam Vincent

408-551-7070
svincent@scu.edu

Keith Yocam image

Online Education Manager

Keith Yocam

408.551.3531
kyocam@scu.edu

Fellows

Kirk O. Hanson image

Senior Fellow

Kirk O. Hanson

408-554-7898
kohanson@scu.edu

Thomas Reese, S.J. image

Senior Fellow

Thomas Reese, S.J.