Markkula Center for Applied Ethics

People

The Ethics Center's staff of 25 includes Ph.D. ethicists and practitioners, lawyers, businesspeople, school principals, religious leaders, scientists, and journalists.

We are guided by an Advisory Board of leaders in the Silicon Valley. The board is comprised of representatives of major Silicon Valley companies, law firms, and nonprofit organizations. We also have a Faculty Steering Committee that helps develop Center policy.

The Center's home at a Jesuit institution that requires ethics courses for all undergraduates gives us access to a faculty with expertise in ethics in many disciplines. More than 50 of those faculty members serve as Center Scholars who assist us in a variety of projects.

 

Center Staff

Don Heiderimage

Executive Director

Don Heider

408-554-5319
dheider@scu.edu

Kathy Almazolimage

Senior Associate and Head of Faith Formation

Kathy Almazol

408 554-5319
kalmazol@mac.com

Hana Callaghanimage

Director, Government Ethics

Hana Callaghan

408-551-7046
hcallaghan@scu.edu

David DeCosseimage

Director, Campus Ethics Programs

David DeCosse

408-554-5715
ddecosse@scu.edu

 

Monica DeLongimage

Director, Operations

Monica DeLong

408-554-7893
mdelong@scu.edu

Jennifer Dirkingimage

Senior Director, External Relations and Advancement

Jennifer Dirking

408-551-6025
jdirking@scu.edu

Kristy Esparzaimage

Program Manager, Character Education

Kristy Esparza

408-551-7049
kesparza@scu.edu

Brian Greenimage

Director, Technology Ethics

Brian Green

408-554-7890
bpgreen@scu.edu

Joan Harringtonimage

Assistant Director, Social Sector Ethics

Joan Harrington

408-551-3577
j1harrington@scu.edu

Carrie Jaffe-Pickettimage

Assistant Director, Communications and Social Marketing

Carrie Jaffe-Pickett

408-551-3149
cjaffepickett@scu.edu   

Yael Kidronimage

Director, Character Education

Yael Kidron

408-554-5712
ykidron@scu.edu

Sally Lehrmanimage

Senior Director, Journalism Ethics

Sally Lehrman

650-728-8211
slehrman.markkula@gmail.com

Leslie Leonettiimage

External Relations Manager

Leslie Leonetti

408-551- 3474
lleonetti@scu.edu

Ryvenna Lewisimage

Healthcare Ethics Internship Manager

Ryvenna Lewis

408-554-5716
rlewis@scu.edu

Margaret R. McLeanimage

Associate Director/Director, Bioethics

Margaret R. McLean

408-554-5319
mmclean@scu.edu

Ann Mongovenimage

Associate Director of Health Care Ethics

Ann Mongoven

408-551-3150
amongoven@scu.edu

Irina Raicuimage

Director, Internet Ethics

Irina Raicu

408-551-1814
iraicu@scu.edu

Miriam Schulmanimage

Associate Director/COO

Miriam Schulman

408-554-5116
mschulman@scu.edu 

Ann Skeetimage

Senior Director, Leadership Ethics

Ann Skeet

408-554-5466
askeet@scu.edu

Sara Tangdallimage

Program Manager, Business, Leadership, and Social Sector Ethics

Sara Tangdall

408-554-7891
stangdall@scu.edu

Anita Varmaimage

Program Manager, Trust Project

Anita Varma

412-656-9638
avarma2@scu.edu

Subramaniam Vincentimage

Tech Lead, Trust Project

Subramaniam Vincent

408-551-7070
svincent@scu.edu

Keith Yocamimage

Online Education Manager

Keith Yocam

408.551.3531
kyocam@scu.edu

Elliot Zangerimage

Web Manager

Elliot Zanger

408-554-7892
ezanger@scu.edu

Fellows

Kirk O. Hansonimage

Senior Fellow

Kirk O. Hanson

408-554-7898
kohanson@scu.edu

Steve Johnsonimage

Senior Fellow, Character Education

Steve Johnson

408-554-6802
sjohnson@scu.edu

Tom Kosticimage

Senior Fellow in Character Education

Tom Kostic

408-551-7049
tkostic@scu.edu

Fr. Tony Mancusoimage

Senior Fellow, Character Education

Fr. Tony Mancuso

408-551-3624
ethics@scu.edu

Thomas Reese, S.J.image

Distinguished Visiting Fellow

Thomas Reese, S.J.