Skip to main content

2021-22 Awards & Accolades

2021 - 2022 Individual Student-Athlete Accolades

These awards are given by each individual league to the club sport student-athletes that have excelled in their respective sports, demonstrating outstanding athletic ability and talent, while making significant contributions to their club, distinguishing themselves as the premier student-athletes in their divisions. 






Connor Merhab                           

Jacob Lesny

Dylan Gordon

Won the Novice Regionals Tournament

Undefeated for the season

Made it all the way to Nationals is his first year of boxing


Kawai Hong

Jarin Simon

NCCVL All-League Most Valuable Player

NCCVL All-League 2nd Team Member


Lou Harvey

Cooper Brindle

Jack Partovi 

Ryan Fox

Carson Lombardi

MCLA Goalie of the Week, MVP, First team all league

Most Improved

Rookie of the Year


MCLA First Team All League 


Daelen Denenberg 

Rudy Scholz Award Nominee


Keaton Viadro 

Stanford Invite All Tournament Team 


Ryan Lang

Placed in every tournament and did incredibly well for this being his first time doing karate (won 2nd place twice)


Bryce Nishikawa

placed 16th overall in the 1000 freestyle and 18th overall in the 500 freestyle


Marissa Tsang

Kylie Hughes 

Maggie McCurdy

Maeve Davit

First Team All League, Second Team All American

First Team All League, First Team All American

Honorable Mention All American

Second Team All League


Caroline Pierret

Lia Kraaijvanger

Division 1 1st team all-league

Division 1 1st team all-league


Sydney Lenoch

Kristine Fischer-Colbrie

Maya Murphy

PacCoast U23 program

PacCoast U23 program

Man of the Match at playoffs


Clara Mays

Sarina Shah

Riley Fink

Kayleigh Vu

Voted Team Overall MVP

Voted Team D MVP

Voted Team O MVP

Voted Rookie of the Year


Arnav Choudhury

9th ranked conference athlete; 14th nationally (Draft Legal)



2021 - 2022 Club Sports Student-Athlete & Officer Awards

Each year, Santa Clara Campus Recreation recognizes teams and individuals for their outstanding athletic success and accomplishments both on and off the field as well as their dedication and commitment to being exemplary student-athletes at the annual Club Sports Council Awards - this year's event was held Wednesday, May 25th. 

Team of the Year Award. Awarded to teams who have accomplished a tremendous amount of success during their seasons on and off the field/court/facility.

Club Sports Team of the Year: Women's Club Volleyball


Open Club Sports Team of the Year: Swim


Athletes of the Year Award. Awarded to student-athletes who not only have excelled at their sport but have also become invaluable members of their team.

Men’s Team Athlete of the Year: Kawai Hong '24 of Men's Volleyball

Kawai Hong

Women’s Team Athlete of the Year: Sydney Lenoch '22 of Women's Rugby

Sydney Lenoch

Open Team Athlete of the Year: Kevin Ehlers '22 of Swim

Kevin Ehlers

 Most Improved Team Award. Awarded to the team that has shown the most growth and improvement over the year.

Most Improved Team: Men's Volleyball


 Highest Team GPA Award. Awarded to the team with the highest average GPA from Fall and Winter quarters.

Highest GPA Award: Women’s Ultimate Frisbee, 3.712


Bronco Virtual Spirit Award. Established in 2019-2020, this award is presented to the team with the best social media presence as we were partially virtual on campus this year due to COVID-19. 

Bronco Virtual Spirit Award: Swim


Officers of the Year Award. The officers of the year awards are given to student-athletes who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills on and off the field.

Open Team Club Sport Officer Award: Kevin Ehlers '22 of Swim

Kevin Ehlers 

Men’s Team Club Sport Officer Award: Nik Elsaessar '22 of Men's Ultimate

Nik Elsaesser

Women’s Team Club Sport Officer Award: Caroline Pierret '22 of Women's Lacrosse

Caroline Pierret

Thank You Service Awards. The Club Sports Council oversees the annual allocations, and all policies and changes for the Club Sports program - annual we thank all those that have provided their service to lead this council. 

President: Zach Heffron, Men's Ultimate

Vice President: Will Bennett, Men's Ultimate 

Women's Representative: Allie Korst, Women's Lacrosse

Men's Representative: Sam Wheeler, Men's Rugby

Open Representative: Erica Svendahl, Equestrian

 Club Sports Student Coordinators: Ava McQuade, Sydney Wang, Calvin Park, Mark Hu